IE 8 beta 2 – methods of “window.external” object throws exception

 

Update 15 Dec, 2008: This issue disappeared in IE8 partner build (‘Pre-RC1’) 8.0.6001.18343

In continuation to the post about IE 8 beta 1 issue, I figured that I still have the problem in my system even after upgrading to IE 8 beta 2. Only this time, I was able to generalize the problem very much.

Here’s what I found:

The problem is that window.external object (in JavaScript) doesn’t seem to have the correct reference to one of browser object (or at least that’s what I think so). Hence all methods of this object throws me an runtime script error.

Because of this, following actions fail in IE 8 beta 2 for me

  1. Opening New tab – the previous post
    Though this doesn’t happen every time, but when it happens the code breaks at
    window.external.BuildNewTabPage(); 
  2. Adding Service (Search provider, accelerators, etc) from http://www.ieaddons.com/en/searchproviders/
    breaks at
    window.external.AddSearchProvider();

    or

    window.external.addService(); 
  3. The very first time, I open IE 8 beta 2 or the once after I ‘reset’ settings and open the browser again, in the ‘Customize Search providers’ & ‘Customize Accelerators’ page.
  4. Especially in the ‘Add Search Provider’ page, in the section ‘Create Your Own’, when I add a custom search, it throws me an error "Unable to add search provider. The Create Your Own tool requires Internet Explorer. [32811]". See screenshot 3 below.

My UserAgent

I thought probably my UserAgent string is corrupt, but here it is… and I don’t see any problem with this.

“Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; InfoPath.1; 
.NET CLR 2.0.50727; FDM; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)”

Screenshots:

(1) IE 8 beta 2 - Strange error 1  This screenshot is taken in the IE Gallery web site with error pop up from the site & the ‘About Dialog’. This is just a consequence the the problem I mentioned above, that window.external is not having correct reference. See code in below screenshot to understand.

(2) IE8b2_error_debug_new2  This screenshot shows the exception details & the point were the exception is thrown in the IE Gallery website. The error number is “-2147319765”. A quick search on the web lead to nowhere.

(3) IE8b2_error_custom_search This happens in the ‘Add Search Provider’ –> Create Your Own search provider section. It’s strange that it says that I need IE to run this. smile_sad

Seeking help at the IE Forum

I’m (again) going to post the problem in IE forum and this time I hope to see a different answer. The solution given to my previous post didn’t work at all.

Update: The issue is posted in IE Forum here.

Does anybody experience same issue in your system? Comment back…

Beautify the web with this post! Share it! :

4 Responses to IE 8 beta 2 – methods of “window.external” object throws exception

  1. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, screen advertisings, digital sign, digital signages and LCDs? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[hfjbbebcjfjhd]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

